Lok Sabha polls: Congress to contest 11 seats in Bihar

Bihar will go to polls in seven phases between April 11 and May 19. Results will be declared on May 23. Bihar sends 40 members to the Lok Sabha.

Congress is a constituent of Grand Alliance in Bihar led by RJD. Representational pic

The Congress will contest 11 out of the 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar, said Bihar Congress campaign committee Chairman Akhilesh Prasad Singh here on Friday.

“The Congress will contest 11 seats in Bihar. The party will send a list of the candidates’ names to party President Rahul Gandhi for final approval,” Singh told the media after a meeting of the Congress state election committee.

Singh said the “grand alliance” has worked out its seat sharing details and a formal announcement will be made in the next two to three days.

As per the seat sharing formula, the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) will contest 17 or 18 seats, the Congress 11 and the remaining seats will be contested by the other allies, including the Left parties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *